News-Press fares well in Mo. Press awards

BRANSON, Mo – The St. Joseph News-Press captured 13 awards in this year’s Better Newspaper Contest sponsored by the Missouri Press Foundation.  The News-Press competed against the state’s largest newspapers, placing third in General Excellence behind The Kansas City Star and the St. Louis Post-Dispatch. The contest period was calendar year 2010.

The winning entries were announced in September at the annual meeting of the Missouri Press Association. Other News-Press awards: SECOND PLACE: Overall Design, staff; Best Front Page, staff; Best Coverage of Family Living, staff; and Best Feature Photograph, Jessica Stewart. THIRD PLACE: Best Columnist-Humorous, Alonzo Weston; Best Columnist-Serious, Alonzo Weston.HONORABLE MENTION: Best Sports News Story or Package, Andrew DeWitt and Cody Thorn; Best Sports Feature Story, Andrew DeWitt; Best Columnist-Humorous, Steve Booher; Best Feature Photograph, Eric Keith; Best Photo Illustration, Eric Keith; and Best Information Graphic, George Stanton.