News-Press wins 7 APME awards

The Missouri Associated Press Media Editors announced the winners of their 2012 newspaper contest on February 9, in Jefferson City, Mo. The St. Joseph News-Press won seven awards, including a first-place award for Sam Robinson and Andrew DeWitt for their spot sports story, “Northwest’s Bostwick dies.”< Other awards the News-Press won are:
Feature Writing: 3rd — Ken Newton, “Church see its last service”

Headline Writing: 2nd — Skye Cobb, “‘Cold’ Man Winter brings freeze”; 3rd — Emily Gummelt, “7 firetrucks, 7 hours”

Sports Feature Writing: 2nd — Sam Robinson, “Fortunate Fate”; 3rd — Sam Robinson, “Safety Saviors”

Graphics: 2nd — George L. Stanton IV, “How to repair Christmas lights.”